Memoirs of a Private Man

Memoirs of a Private Man

Winston Graham

From the author of the Poldark series

Winston Graham's memoirs have been consigned to his safe for years. Here, at last, they are shared with his readers in a remarkable book, free of what he called 'the fashionable sins', but rich in charm and anecdote. Memoirs of a Private Man follows the rise of a delicate Manchester lad from the isolation of Cornwall to fame and the glittering London film scene. Its pages are peopled by luminaries, among them Alfred Hitchcock, who turned Graham's best-selling novel, Marnie , into a classic film, Gregory Peck, and Somerset Maugham.

Graham's is a life of success, often excess, yet he never loses sight of its foundations: his love of his wife Jean, companion of fifty years, and his love of words. His memoirs offer an insight into the unassuming side of the writer whose bestselling novels and their television adaptations have won over the hearts of millions.

Loading Added To Basket
Added to your basket

Book Details

ISBN: 9781447256755
Publication date: 07.11.2013
Number of pages: 272
Dimensions: 234mm x 153mm

In stock
Other sellers Other sellers
The Book Depository
The Hive

Books by Winston Graham

  • Poldark's Cornwall
  • Ross Poldark
  • Demelza
  • The Ugly Sister
  • Cordelia
  • The Merciless Ladies
  • The Grove of Eagles: A novel of Elizabethan England
  • The Forgotten Story
  • The Japanese Girl
  • The Spanish Armadas
  • The Green Flash
  • Night Without Stars
  • The Sleeping Partner
  • The Walking Stick
  • Angell, Pearl and Little God
  • Woman in the Mirror
  • Stephanie
  • Tremor
  • The Little Walls
  • Greek Fire
  • Night Journey
  • Cameo
  • The Tumbled House
  • After the Act
  • Take My Life
  • Fortune is a Woman
  • Marnie
  • Marnie
  • The Angry Tide: A Novel of Cornwall 1798-1799
  • Bella Poldark: A Novel of Cornwall 1818-1820
  • The Black Moon: A Novel of Cornwall 1794-1795
  • The Four Swans: A Novel of Cornwall 1795-1797
  • Jeremy Poldark: A Novel of Cornwall 1790-1791
  • The Loving Cup: A Novel of Cornwall 1813-1815
  • The Miller's Dance: A Novel of Cornwall 1812-1813
  • The Stranger From The Sea: A Novel of Cornwall 1810-1811
  • The Twisted Sword: A Novel of Cornwall 1815
  • Warleggan: A Novel of Cornwall 1792-1793

Books you might like

  • Chedsy Place
  • Journeying Wave
  • Pride v Prejudice