Released on 26 January 2017.

Read extract

A Girl Called Owl

For ages 9-11
3.76 based on 109 ratings & 25 reviews on Goodreads.com

Synopsis

It's bad enough having a mum dippy enough to name you Owl, but when you've got a dad you've never met, a best friend who needs you more than ever, and a new boy at school giving you weird looks, there's not a lot of room for much else.

So when Owl starts seeing strange frost patterns on her skin, she's tempted to just burrow down under the duvet and forget all about it. Could her strange new powers be linked to her mysterious father?And what will happen when she enters the magical world of winter for the first time?

A glittering story of frost and friendship, with writing full of magic and heart, the Branford Boase-longlisted A Girl Called Owl is a stunning debut about family and the beauty of the natural world.

'A story of wild winds and bitter frosts with the warmth of friendship at its heart' Abi Elphinstone, author of Sky Song

'A sparklingly frosty read, full of feisty characters, myth and mystery' Daily Mail

In the media

At its core, Wilson's debut is a story of friendship and the warmth of family, shot through with the magic of winter and the resonance of ancient myths and legends.
INIS Reading Guide
Even though this book is set in the world of Jack Frost, Amy Wilson's writing is brimming with warmth. A Girl Called Owl would suit readers who love Emma Carroll & Katherine Rundell. I'm intrigued to see what her next book will be about.
Serendipity Reviews
This debut is a sparklingly frosty read, full of feisty characters, myth and mystery
Daily Mail