A Girl Called Owl

3.76 based on 55 ratings & 18 reviews on Goodreads.com
Macmillan Children's Books

Publication date: 26.01.2017
ISBN: 9781509834068
Number of pages: 0

Synopsis

It's bad enough having a mum dippy enough to name you Owl, but when you've got a dad you've never met, a best friend who needs you more than ever, and a new boy at school giving you weird looks, there's not a lot of room for much else.

So when Owl starts seeing strange frost patterns on her skin, she's tempted to just burrow down under the duvet and forget all about it. Could her strange new powers be linked to her mysterious father?And what will happen when she enters the magical world of winter for the first time?

A glittering story of frost and friendship, with writing full of magic and heart, A Girl Called Owl is a stunning debut about family, responsibility and the beauty of the natural world.

In the media

[a] magical debut
The Bookseller
a perfect read for those who love wintery magic and a strong female character proving her place in the world.
BookTrust
Even though this book is set in the world of Jack Frost, Amy Wilson's writing is brimming with warmth. A Girl Called Owl would suit readers who love Emma Carroll & Katherine Rundell. I'm intrigued to see what her next book will be about.
Serendipity Reviews