Released on 19 October 2017.

Read extract  

The Ritual

Now A Major Film, The Most Thrilling Chiller You'll Read This Year

3.62 based on 6676 ratings & 957 reviews on

2012 Winner

British Fantasy Award Best Horror Novel


From Britain's 'master of horror', Adam Nevill, comes The Ritual, winner of the August Derleth Award and perfect for fans of Stephen King. Now a major film with Rafe Spall.

In Adam Nevill's The Ritual, four old university friends reunite for a hiking trip in the Scandinavian wilderness of the Arctic Circle. No longer young men, they have little left in common and tensions rise as they struggle to connect. Frustrated and tired they take a shortcut that turns their hike into a nightmare that could cost them their lives.

Lost, hungry and surrounded by forest untouched for millennia, they stumble across an isolated old house. Inside, they find the macabre remains of old rites and pagan sacrifices; ancient artefacts and unidentifiable bones. A place of dark ritual and home to a bestial presence that is still present in the ancient forest, and now they’re the prey.

As the four friends struggle toward salvation they discover that death doesn’t come easy among these ancient trees . . .

In the media

The Ritual, is now one of my all time favourite books, for me personally this is a powerful book that ticks every box in horror writing.
Gingernuts of Horror
It has been over a week now since I finished this book and it has really stayed with me and I find myself thinking about it on numerous occasions, and this is another very good sign.
Fantasy Book Review
With The Ritual Nevill has crafted some of the tensest scariest horror this reviewer has read for years.