Dark Matter

4.11 based on 68433 ratings & 11429 reviews on Goodreads.com
Pan

Publication date: 24.08.2017
ISBN: 9781447297581
Number of pages: 416

Synopsis

'Brilliant. . . I think Blake Crouch just invented something new.' - Lee Child

'Are you happy in your life?'

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakes to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before the man he's never met smiles down at him and says, 'Welcome back.'

In this world he's woken up to, Jason's life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that's the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could've imagined - one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

From Blake Crouch, the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy, Dark Matter is a brilliantly plotted tale that is at once sweeping and intimate, mind-bendingly strange and profoundly human - a relentlessly surprising thriller about choices, paths not taken, and how far we'll go to claim the lives we dream of, perfect for fans of Stranger Things.

In the media

Terse prose, strong characterisation and clever twists make for a quick, smart, engrossing read
Financial Times
Excellent characterization and well-crafted tension...the rousing and heartfelt ending will leave readers cheering
Publishers Weekly
It also might be the most helter-skelter, race-to-the-finish-line thriller you'll read all year
Observer