Released on 30 August 2012.

#2 in series
Read extract

Flint and Roses

4.37 based on 30 ratings & 2 reviews on


Faith Aycliffe is a woman born before her time. She knows what she needs and refuses to substitute social success for personal happiness. It is Faith, forging her loyalties and utterly unforgettable, who stands at the centre of Flint and Roses – Brenda Jagger’s second Barforth novel.

The place is Yorkshire in the mid-19th century with its conflict between a new-born middle class and the old landed gentry. The family, the Barforths, woollen manufacturers and mill-owners. Their lives, full of love, hatred and struggle, interweave with Faith’s own adventurous spirit in this rich, exciting tapestry of a novel that holds to the very end.