Read extract  

The Wind Is Not a River

3.72 based on 2446 ratings & 474 reviews on Goodreads.com
Mantle

16 January 14
9781447242260
0
£14.99
N/A
N/A

Synopsis

A stunning tale of love and survival against all odds, for fans of Cold Mountain

April 1943. In the bloody turmoil of war, John Easley, a journalist mourning his lost brother, is driven to expose a hidden and growing conflict: the Japanese invasion and occupation of Alaska's Aleutian Islands. But when his plane is shot down he must either surrender or struggle to survive in a harsh wilderness.
Three thousand miles to the south, Helen Easley cannot accept her husband's disappearance-an absence that exposes her sheltered, untested life. Desperate to find and be reunited with him, she sets out on a remarkable journey from the safety of her Seattle home to the war in the north.
An evocative, richly atmospheric tale of life and death, commitment and sacrifice, The Wind Is Not a River, perfect for fans of Cold Mountain, is a gripping story of survival that illuminates the fragility of life and the fierce power of love.

'Beautifully written, lyrical and elegiac, The Wind Is Not A River is a novel you must read . . . John Easley's struggle to survive and his wife Helen's struggle to find him form the most triumphant and heartbreaking love story I've read in years' David Vann, author of LEGEND OF A SUICIDE

In the media

Powerful . . . Payton keeps his prose taut so that nothing diverts the reader from the suspense of Easley and his compatriot's struggle to stay alive. You can hardly ask for a more gripping novelistic scenario.
National Post, Canada
Thoughtful, meticulously observed . . . Payton is merciless with his readers - he brings Helen and Easley tantalizingly close, again and again, only to have them miss - but quite tender with his characters. "Some men," Easley muses, staring at the bleak, gray Aleutian horizon, "have the great misfortune to stand at life's continental divide and see that the land beyond is barren. There is no hope of turning back. What does one do with this view?" The answer comes soon enough. Some men - Easley - do find reason for hope, and still others - author Payton now chief among them - find enormous if shattering beauty in the forbidding view the Aleutians afford.
Washington Independent Review of Books
Harrowing . . . moving and evocative novel. A breathtaking evocation of landscape is coupled with a compassionate exploration of the human heart.
Daily Mail