What Would Mary Berry Do?

3.9 based on 510 ratings & 110 reviews on Goodreads.com

Marie Dunwoody doesn't want for much in life. She has a lovely husband, three wonderful children, and a business of her own. But her cupcakes are crap. Her meringues are runny and her biscuits rock-hard. She cannot bake for toffee. Or, for that matter, make toffee.

Marie can't ignore the disappointed looks any more, or continue to be shamed by neighbour and nemesis, Lucy Gray. Lucy whips up perfect profiteroles with one hand, while ironing her bed sheets with the other. Marie's had enough: this is the year it all changes. She vows to follow - to the letter - recipes from the Queen of Baking, and at all times ask, 'What would Mary Berry do?'

Husband Robert has noticed that his boss takes crumb structure as seriously as budget cuts and with redundancies on the horizon, he too puts on a pinny. Twins Rose and Iris are happy to eat all the half-baked mistakes that come their way, but big brother Angus is more distant than usual, as if something is troubling him. And there is no one as nosey as a matching pair of nine-year-old girls . . .

Marie starts to realise that the wise words of Mary Berry can help her with more than just a Victoria Sponge. But can Robert save the wobbling soufflé that is his career? And is Lucy's sweet demeanour hiding something secretly sour?

This is a delicious feast of a funny novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Allison Pearson.

**This is a work of fiction, in no way endorsed by Mary Berry, and where neither Mary Berry herself nor her recipes feature.**

A laugh on every page
Lucy Diamond, bestselling author of The Beach Cafe
This book is a sheer delight. Funny, warm and a real page turner
Katie Fforde, bestselling author of The Perfect Match
Wonderfully warm ... a delicious treat
Vanessa Greene, bestselling author of The Vintage Tea Cup Club

About Claire Sandy

Claire Sandy lives in Surrey with her husband and daughter and enjoys baking, reading, writing, eating, dressing up her dog and inventing new things to do with gin. She is the author of several laugh-out-loud novels, including What Would Mary Berry Do?, A Very Big House in the Country and Snowed in for Christmas.

Read More

Books by Claire Sandy

A Not Quite Perfect Family
A Not Quite Perfect Family
Snowed in for Christmas
Snowed in for Christmas
A Very Big House in the Country
A Very Big House in the Country