#1 in series

Last Bus to Woodstock

Book 1 in the series

3.92 based on 8077 ratings & 307 reviews on Goodreads.com

Publication date: 16.03.2007
ISBN: 9781447299073
Number of pages: 320


Last Bus to Woodstock is the novel that began Colin Dexter's phenomenally successful Inspector Morse series.

'Do you think I'm wasting your time, Lewis?'

Lewis was nobody's fool and was a man of some honesty and integrity.

'Yes, sir.'

An engaging smile crept across Morse's mouth. He thought they could get on well together . . .'

The death of Sylvia Kaye figured dramatically in Thursday afternoon's edition of the Oxford Mail.

By Friday evening Inspector Morse had informed the nation that the police were looking for a dangerous man - facing charges of wilful murder, sexual assault and rape.

But as the obvious leads fade into twilight and darkness, Morse becomes more and more convinced that passion holds the key . . .

In the media

Let those who lament the decline of the English detective story reach for Colin Dexter
Highly effective . . . exceptionally clever
Sunday Times