The Broken String: A short story

0 based on 0 ratings & 0 reviews on Goodreads.com

A short story from Diane Chamberlain, the bestselling author of The Midwife's Confession and Necessary Lies.

Some secrets need to be told . . . As a child, Riley always suspected there was a secret her parents and brother protected her from, a secret that ruined the bond between her and her brother and threatened to tear her family apart. Now seventeen years old, Riley is flying out to visit her brother Danny who has been wounded whilst fighting in Iraq. And she's is determined to find out what this secret is. But will uncovering the truth bring her and her brother together again and give her the answers she craves, or will it simply lead to more questions . . .

Diane Chamberlain's The Broken String features the main character from the full length novel, The Silent Sister. This riveting short story is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Jodi Picoult.

About Diane Chamberlain

Diane Chamberlain is the USA Today and Sunday Times bestselling author of 24 novels published in more than twenty languages. Some of her most popular books include Necessary Lies, The Silent Sister, The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, and The Keeper of the Light Trilogy. Diane likes to write complex stories about relationships between men and women, parents and children, brothers and sisters, and friends. Although the thematic focus of her books often revolves around family, love, compassion and forgiveness, her stories usually feature a combination of drama, mystery, secrets and intrigue. Diane's background in psychology has given her a keen interest in understanding the way people tick, as well as the background necessary to create her realistic characters.
Diane was born and raised in Plainfield, New Jersey and spent her summers at the Jersey Shore. She also lived for many years in San Diego and northern Virginia before making North Carolina her home.
Diane received her bachelor's and master's degrees in clinical social work from San Diego State University. Prior to her writing career, Diane worked in hospitals in San Diego and Washington, D.C. before opening a private psychotherapy practice in Alexandria Virginia specializing in adolescents. All the while Diane was writing on the side. Her first book, Private Relations was published in 1989 and it earned the RITA award for Best Single Title Contemporary Novel.
Diane lives with her partner, photographer John Pagliuca, and her sheltie, Cole. She has three stepdaughters, two sons-in-law, and four grandchildren. She's currently at work on her next novel.
Please visit Diane's website at www.dianechamberlain.com for more information on her newest novel, Pretending to Dance, and a complete list of her books.

Read More

Books by Diane Chamberlain

Fire and Rain
Fire and Rain
Pretending to Dance
Pretending to Dance
The Dance Begins
The Dance Begins
The Silent Sister
The Silent Sister
The Escape Artist
The Escape Artist
Reflection
Reflection
Secret Lives
Secret Lives
Necessary Lies
Necessary Lies
The First Lie: A short story
The First Lie: A short story

From our blogs

Sign up to The Window Seat for a Diane Chamberlain short story

Sign up to The Window Seat for a Diane Chamberlain short story

29 February 2016

By The Window Seat

Sign up to The Window Seat monthly email and you'll receive a short story from one of our favourite writers, Diane Chamberlain, to welcome you to our community of book lovers. 

Read