Released on 12 April 2012.

#1 in series
Read extract  

Never Mind

3.75 based on 2841 ratings & 389 reviews on

1992 Winner

Betty Trask Award


Never Mind is the first of Edward St Aubyn's Patrick Melrose novels.
Now a major Sky Atlantic TV series starring Benedict Cumberbatch.

At his mother’s family house in the south of France, Patrick Melrose has the run of a magical garden. Bravely imaginative and self-sufficient, five-year-old Patrick encounters the volatile lives of adults with care. His father, David, rules with considered cruelty, and Eleanor, his mother, has retreated into drink. They are expecting guests for dinner. But this afternoon is unlike the chain of summer days before, and the shocking events that precede the guests’ arrival tear Patrick’s world in two.

Never Mind was originally published, along with Bad News and Some Hope, as part of a three book omnibus , also called Some Hope.