Released on 12 July 2018.

Read extract  

The Light Years

3.98 based on 2626 ratings & 298 reviews on


With an introduction by Joanna Lumley

The Light Years is the first novel in Elizabeth Jane Howard’s bestselling five-part series, ‘The Cazalet Chronicles’.

Home Place, Sussex, 1937.

For two unforgettable summers the Cazalets gathered together, safe from the advancing storm clouds of the Second World War. In the heart of the Sussex countryside these were still sunlit days of childish games, lavish family meals and picnics on the beach.

This is the beginning.

Howard’s beautiful saga is the story of three generations of the Cazalet family. Their relatives, their children and their servants – and the fascinating triangle of their affairs . . .