Saving Silence

3.64 based on 41 ratings & 5 reviews on Goodreads.com
Macmillan Children's Books

Publication date: 12.09.2013
ISBN: 9781447217855
Number of pages: 0

Synopsis

It's not easy being the new kid at school. It's even harder when people want you dead.

Sam's been an outsider ever since he moved to London. A loner from the North who won't let anyone in. Former head girl and all round school-star Imogen had pretty much given up trying to befriend Sam before that night on Walthamstow high street. The night he wanted to tell her a secret, and someone tried to murder him.

But Sam isn't the only one whose life is in danger. Although she doesn't know it, Imogen is being watched. And if she doesn't give these people what they want, they'll silence her too. Permanently.

In the media

Full of suspense, enthralling and strong from start to finish, this is a must-read for fans of Sophie Mckenzie and Ali Sparks. My favourite Blaxill yet
The School Librarian
Saving Silence is not just a tautly-written thriller, though it is certainly that. It is also an exploration of self-image, public duty, trust and betrayal. Blaxhill's portrayal of teenage lifestyles is utterly convincing - she has captured the cadences of speech and the intricacies of friendships, romance and the delicate balancing act needed to stay on the right side of the law without betraying those you love.
Books For Keeps
With a narrative that alternates between the perspectives of Sam and Imogen, the story unfolds in all its terrifying and cautionary reality. A raw and gritty reminder that inner city life is tough for kids as well as adults.
Lancashire Evening Post