The Extra Ordinary Life of Frank Derrick, Age 81

J.B. Morrison

3.56 based on 6 ratings & 1 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
05 June 2014
9781447252757
0 pages
Synopsis

Frank Derrick is eighty-one. And he's just been run over by a milk float.

It was tough enough to fill the hours of the day when he was active. But now he's broken his arm and fractured his foot, it looks set to be a very long few weeks ahead. Frank lives with his cat Bill (which made more sense before Ben died) in the typically British town of Fullwind-on-Sea. He watches DVDs, spends his money frivolously at the local charity shop and desperately tries to avoid cold callers continually knocking on his door.

Then a breath of fresh air comes into his life in the form of Kelly Christmas, home help. With her little blue car and appalling parking, her cheerful resilience and ability to laugh at his jokes, Kelly changes Frank's extra ordinary life. She reminds him that there is a world beyond the four walls of his flat and that adventures, however small, come to people of all ages.

Frank and Kelly's story is sad and funny, moving, familiar, uplifting. It is a small and perfect look at a life neither remarkable nor disastrous, but completely extraordinary nonetheless. For fans of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, The Extra Ordinary Life of Frank Derrick, Age 81 by J. B. Morrison is a quirky, life-affirming story that has enormous appeal. And it's guaranteed to make you laugh.

Warm and funny, this book will leave you with a satisfied smile

Catharina Ingelman-Sundberg, bestselling author of The Little Old Lady Who Broke All the Rules

If you want a novel with some laugh out loud lines and a truly endearing central character, look no further

frannyandperks

The novel rescues the elderly for us, paints them as just older versions of ourselves, with the same anchors in shared popular culture and the same wish to be interested, involved, inspired

Lloyd Shepherd