Released on 01 November 2012.

#1 in series
Read extract

The Black Mountains

3.88 based on 5 ratings & 1 reviews on


Black Mountains dominate the Somerset town of Hillsbridge, and beneath their brooding shadow the Hall family – Charlotte, James and their seven children – carry on an earthy, turbulent existence. Independent spirits, the Halls are united by strong family values, divided by the conflicts of a community caught up in the changing patterns of industrial progress.

Then the dark shadows of impending war fall upon this vivid family canvas, and the Halls are forced to reaffirm their most basic beliefs.

Janet Tanner has created a memorable and moving saga of love, hate, happiness and heartbreak on the slopes of The Black Mountains.

‘Sensitive and exceptionally polished’ Manchester Evening News