The Reader on the 6.27

Translated by

3.69 based on 1699 ratings & 300 reviews on Goodreads.com
Pan

Publication date: 10.03.2016
ISBN: 9781447276494
Number of pages: 208

Synopsis

An international bestseller from French author Jean-Paul Didierlaurent, The Reader on the 6.27 is ready to take you on a journey . . .

Guylain Vignolles lives on the edge of existence. Working at a book pulping factory in a job he hates, he has but one pleasure in life . . .

Sitting on the 6.27 train each day, Guylain recites aloud from pages he has saved from the jaws of his monstrous pulping machine. But it is when he discovers the diary of a lonely young woman, Julie - a woman who feels as lost in the world as he does - that his journey will truly begin . . .

The Reader on the 6.27 is a tale bursting with larger-than-life characters, each of whom touches Guylain's life for the better. For fans of Amelie and Mr Penumbra's 24-hour Bookstore, this captivating novel is a warm, funny fable about literature's power to uplift even the most downtrodden of lives.

In the media

A delightful tale about the kinship of reading... Much of the charm resides in the simplicity of Didierlaurent's prose and his vivid characterisation. Ros Schwartz's translation perfectly conveys the warmth and eccentricities of his memorable cast. Already a bestseller in France, The Reader on the 6.27 looks set to woo British readers and become a book club favourite
Independent on Sunday
Charming . . . It is a clever, funny, and humane work that champions the power of literature
Sunday Times
I read it in one sitting, I couldn't put it down! It is one of those feel-good books that gets you really invested in the character's story, and then puts you in a good mood when you finish it. There is an underlying element of it being a love story, but the novel is so much more than that.
Literary Loveliness - Hello Magazine Online