Released on 29 October 2015.

Read extract  

The Christmas Court

3.74 based on 31 ratings & 6 reviews on Goodreads.com

Synopsis

The Christmas Court by Joanna Courtney is a festive historical short story from the author of The Chosen Queen.

King Edward's royal court has gathered at Westminster to welcome William of Normandy to England. As the ambitious Norman duke takes his place amongst the English lords, rumour and speculation are rife. It appears that William has an ulterior motive for making his timely visit to his childless royal cousin . . .

Freya and Alodie are new to court and the entertainments of the burgeoning Wessex city of London are far more intriguing than the political machinations which surround the gathering. The vast Christmas markets along the sprawling banks of Chelsea village offer endless delights. For the two young friends, enchanted by the wassails, evergreens and festive crowds, the Normans are more of an enticement than a danger.

As the feasting and dancing begin, Freya finds herself falling for a man from the wrong side of the Narrow Sea and, with the help of a little mistletoe and wine, 1051 becomes a Christmas to remember . . .

The Christmas Court is a perfect short story for fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick

In the media

'Gripping, intriguing, romantic'
Tracy Bloom
'An atmospheric, vividly written book that took me on a fascinating journey into the past so much so that even after I finished the book, I am still wondering about the characters and their world. I simply cannot wait for the next book. I am hooked!'
Shaz’s Book Blog
'A glorious, rich, epic story of love, friendship and sacrifice which will sweep you up and transport you to another time. I absolutely loved this and can't wait for the next book in the series'
Rachael Lucas, author of Sealed With A Kiss and Coming Up Roses