The House at Riverton

3.93 based on 68025 ratings & 5432 reviews on Goodreads.com
Pan

Publication date: 15.06.2007
ISBN: 9780330448444
Number of pages: 608

Synopsis

Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again.

Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide. Ghosts awaken and memories, long-consigned to the dark reaches of Grace's mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks. A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could.

A thrilling mystery and a compelling love story, Kate Morton's The House at Riverton will appeal to readers of Ian McEwan's Atonement, L.P. Hartley's The Go-Between, and lovers of the film Gosford Park.

In the media

An extremely accomplished mystery story . . . haunting and enthralling . . . exquisite not only in the writing but also in the structure
Good Reading
An extraordinary debut . . . Told with a lovely turn of phrase by someone who knows how to eke out tantalising secrets and drama . . . A fascinating time in history, and Morton brings it to life with obvious attention to detail and thorough research
Sunday Telegraph
A rollicking good yarn of the sort you might devour in a single weekend
Vogue

Upcoming events

Meet Kate Morton

Meet Kate Morton

  • Central Library, Gateshead
    Central Library, Gateshead
    Prince Consort Road , NE8 4LN UNITED KINGDOM
  • 05 May 2017 19:00
05 May 2017 07:00Z 05 May 2017 08:00Z

Kate Morton will be speaking about her books, The House at Riverton and The Lake house as part of the Big North Book Run festival.

More info >
Add event to your calendar: iCal GCal