The House at Riverton

3.93 based on 66104 ratings & 5332 reviews on Goodreads.com

Summer 1924: On the eve of a glittering Society party, by the lake of a grand English country house, a young poet takes his life. The only witnesses, sisters Hannah and Emmeline Hartford, will never speak to each other again.

Winter 1999: Grace Bradley, 98, one-time housemaid of Riverton Manor, is visited by a young director making a film about the poet's suicide. Ghosts awaken and memories, long-consigned to the dark reaches of Grace's mind, begin to sneak back through the cracks. A shocking secret threatens to emerge; something history has forgotten but Grace never could.

A thrilling mystery and a compelling love story, Kate Morton's The House at Riverton will appeal to readers of Ian McEwan's Atonement, L.P. Hartley's The Go-Between, and lovers of the film Gosford Park.

About Kate Morton

Kate Morton grew up in the mountains of south-east Queensland and lives now with her husband and young sons " "in London. She has degrees in dramatic art and English literature, specializing in nineteenth-century tragedy and contemporary gothic novels. " " " "Kate has sold over ten million copies of her novels in 33 languages, across 38 countries. The Shifting Fog, published internationally as The House at Riverton, The Forgotten Garden, The Distant Hours and The Secret Keeper have all been number one bestsellers around the world. Each novel won the Australian Book Industry award for General Fiction Book of the Year.

Read More

Books by Kate Morton

The Lake House
The Lake House
The Secret Keeper
The Secret Keeper
The Distant Hours
The Distant Hours
The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden

From our blogs

Our Mother's Day Gift Guide

Our Mother's Day Gift Guide

26 February 2016

Still not posted anything for Mother's Day? Don't worry, we've got you covered. Here's the bookish gifts that we're sending to our mums this week, because books last longer than flowers or chocolates. 

Read