Released on 10 August 2017.

Read extract

Are You Sleeping

3.64 based on 3846 ratings & 737 reviews on Goodreads.com

Synopsis

'I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough . . . a terrific debut' - Jenny Blackhurst, author of Before I Let You In.

The only thing more dangerous than a lie . . . is the truth

Josie Buhrman has spent the last ten years trying to escape the tragic events of her dark past: after her father's murder, her mother ran away to join a cult, and her twin sister Lanie, once Josie's closest confidant, betrayed her. Now, Josie has a new life in new York with her boyfriend Caleb.

The only problem is that she has lied to Caleb about every detail of her past – starting with her last name.

Then investigative reporter Poppy Parnell sets off a media firestorm with a hit podcast that reopens the case of her father’s murder and Josie’s carefully constructed world begins to unravel. Forced to return to her hometown she must confront the lies from her past – as well as those on which she has staked her future.

Are You Sleeping is a gripping debut psychological thriller from Kathleen Barber for fans of Serial, Disclaimer and Luckiest Girl Alive.

In the media

Dark. Moving. Timely.
Oprah.com
Tense, clever, addictive
Paula Daly, author of The Mistake I Made
An astute debut . . . turning our obsession with true crime inside out
Stylist