Out on 15 September 2022

The Wild Hunt

Lucy Holland

See more book details
15 September 2022
9781529077407
416 pages
Synopsis

‘Lucy Holland is a brilliantly assured storyteller’ – Molly Flatt

A must-read for fans of Circe and The Bear and the Nightingale


Once an Iceni warchief, Herla was tricked into spending three days in the faery realm. But a century passed for each day she feasted, and when she and her followers emerged, it was to find the Iceni wiped out and Britain overrun. Cursed to bring death to all she meets, Herla now presides over her grim court, dreaming of vengeance.

710 AD. Orphaned and raised in a monastery on the edge of Dumnonia, eighteen-year-old Cryda spends what she believes to be her last days in study – until the night Ine of Wessex slays the king and lays waste to her home.

Desperate to escape, she flees west. But when Cryda loses her way on the moor, it’s Herla who assists her. Herla realizes that to befriend Cryda is to risk the girl’s soul, and yet she finds herself drawn to the young scholar. Together, Herla and Cryda must walk a knife’s edge between the living and the dead, the faery realm and a war-torn land, in an effort to save a kingdom and ultimately their own souls.

The Wild Hunt recasts the folklore of the Erlking into a dark, feminist fantasy set amidst the legends and beauty of ancient Cornwall.

Sistersong is a fresh and gripping retelling of an ancient tale. Set in a realistic, gritty world, the nuanced, compelling characters are the heart of this story about family, love, loyalty and identity. I loved it

John Gwynne on Sistersong

Rooted in history but shot through with surprises, this takes ancient British myth and gives it a wonderfully fresh twist. The book combines timely themes around our lost connection with nature, the fluidity of identity and the power of claiming your own story with a haunting atmosphere and a rollicking pace. Lucy Holland is a brilliantly assured storyteller

Molly Flatt on Sistersong