I'm Actually Really Grown-Up Now

Maisie Paradise Shearring

Ages 3-5
See more book details
22 August 2019
9781529015782
0 pages
Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Shirley Hughes, I'm Actually Really Grown-Up now is a warm and funny story from the creator of Anna and Otis.

"Inclusive illustrations are bright, busy and drawn with charming naivety"
Praise for Anna and Otis – The Sunday Times

The grown-ups are having a party, and Meena would really love to join in but instead she's sent to bed. Only grown-ups get to stay up late. So the next day she makes a very important announcement to her parents: "I'm actually really grown-up now!"

In this very funny story we join Meena as she plans her very own grown-up party and explores what it REALLY means to be a grown up. She has a lot of fun experimenting with fashion, going to work and party planning, but she soon finds out that being grown-up might not always be as easy as it seems.

I'm Actually Really Grown-Up Now by Maisie Shearring is the follow-up to the wonderful Anna and Otis. Maisie has a special talent for capturing the bittersweet highs and lows of childhood and the humour to be found in everyday situations.

We’ve all heard kids declare themselves grown-up, but sometimes they need to stop racing ahead. This funny picture book with busy and colourful illustrations is about “independence, self-esteem and knowing when to stop being grown-up!” It’s Shearring’s follow-up to her acclaimed Anna and Otis, about overcoming fears and making friends. The author has a special talent for capturing the highs and lows of childhood. When Meena realises being grown-up means unpacking the shopping and putting the food away, it isn’t quite as fun as she expected

I News

Parents of children who have desperately wanted to stay up and be part of a grown-up party will recognise Meena’s fear of missing out, and Shearring’s book is a great way to remind children that sometimes, adults need to have fun with their friends just like kids need to enjoy being kids (and, maybe, adult parties might even be a bit boring). Shearring’s illustration is always full of verve and fun (mum and dad’s expressions when being woken up after the party are brilliant) and her depiction of a modern family is lovely

BookTrust

beautifully illustrated and written

Express