#1 in series

The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter

Book 1 in the series

3.72 based on 453 ratings & 72 reviews on Goodreads.com

Publication date: 17.01.2013
ISBN: 9780230764644
Number of pages: 0


Winner of the ITV3 Crime Thriller Book Club Best Read Award; shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey Dagger for Best Debut Crime Novel of the Year and the Saltire Scottish First Book of the Year Award, longlisted the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller of the Year, longlisted for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year Award.

A twenty-nine-year-old man lives alone in his Glasgow flat. The telephone rings; a casual conversation, but behind this a job offer. The clues are there if you know to look for them.

He is an expert. A loner. Freelance. Another job is another job, but what if this organisation wants more?

A meeting at a club. An offer. A brief. A target:

Lewis Winter.

It's hard to kill a man well. People who do it well know this. People who do it badly find out the hard way. The hard way has consequences.

An arresting, gripping novel of dark relationships and even darker moralities, The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter introduces a remarkable voice in crime fiction, Malcolm Mackay.

How A Gunman Says Goodbye and The Sudden Arrival of Violence complete The Glasgow Trilogy.

In the media

A thriller trilogy that thrills
Washington Post
Brutal but elegantly constructed
New York Times