Released on 12 July 2018.

Read extract

I Heard the Owl Call My Name

3.93 based on 4210 ratings & 460 reviews on


With an introduction by author Cynan Jones

Amid the grandeur of British Columbia stands the village of Kingcome, a place of salmon runs and ancient totems. Yet in this Eden of such natural beauty and richness, the old culture is under attack – slowly being replaced by prefab houses and alcoholism. Into this world, where an entire generation of young people has become disenchanted and alienated from their heritage, steps Mark Brian, a young vicar sent to the small isolated parish by his church.

This is Mark’s journey of discovery, a journey that will teach him about life, death, and the transforming power of love. An outstanding and much-acclaimed first novel, I Heard the Owl Call My Name by Margaret Craven is a story of great perception and wisdom.