#1 in series

Ask the Right Question

Book 1 in the series

3.64 based on 33 ratings & 6 reviews on Goodreads.com
Bello

Publication date: 28.01.2016
ISBN: 9781509816590
Number of pages: 0

Synopsis

Meet Albert Samson - a detective in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett's Sam Spade, Raymond Chandler's Philip Marlowe and Ross Macdonald's Lew Archer.

But Samson's no hard-boiled clone. For one thing, he doesn't even own a gun. For another, he works in Indianapolis, the apparently unglamorous Midwestern city where he grew up. But the city and its problems are not the stuff of stereotypes. And Samson uses his wits and his contacts to solve his clients' problems and make something of a living.

Here, in his first fictional outing - nominated for an Edgar - he has the most unusual client in his history, a sixteen-year-old school girl. She wants him to find out where her biological father is. At home with your biological mother? Samson suggests, unable to take the kid seriously. But the girl is certain. Her 'father' cannot be her father: she can prove it. And things soon get seriously complicated.

In the media

Brightly written with some crackling dialogue
Observer
Fascinates throughout, and frequently amuses as well . . . very assured and satisfying indeed
The Sunday Times
The best private eye story since Ross Macdonald's last
Books and Bookmen