Out on 13 June 2019

Untitled Wood

Naomi Wood

0 based on 0 ratings & 0 reviews on Goodreads.com
See more book details
13 June 2019
9781509892815
0 pages
Synopsis

This is the story of Paul Brickman, an exiled artist in 1970s England, haunted by his memories of the decade he spent at the Bauhaus art school and the life-changing consequences that have reverberated through the years, especially with regard to the love of his life, Loti, and his best friend, Walter.

The story begins in Weimar in 1923 where Paul and his tight-knit group of fellow students are seduced by the charismatic teachings of the Bauhaus. The group quickly becomes a hotbed of unrequited love and burgeoning sexuality. Supposedly friends, it doesn’t stop rivalries and betrayals developing between, which follow them as the school relocates after being closed down by the far right government, first to Dessau and then to Berlin.

As the group disintegrates under the pressure of their own secrets, lies and love affairs, the novel builds to a powerful tragedy exacerbated by Hitler's seizing of power in 1933.

Think Donna Tartt’s The Secret History set in pre-war Germany. For fans of Benjamin Wood’s The Ecliptic and Jessie Burton’s The Muse, it has a similarly atmospheric and fascinating depiction of real life historical detail as Mrs. Hemingway.