Released on 29 November 2018.

#3 in series
Read extract
4.19 based on 1623 ratings & 55 reviews on


Orbus traces the journey of an Old Captain, Orbus – a sadist in charge of a crew of masochists – to a planetary wasteland called The Graveyard lying between the Polity and the Prador Kingdom. An ancient war drone by the name of Sniper has stowed away aboard his spaceship, and the purpose of the journey is not entirely what the captain expected.

Also heading in the same direction is the Prador king and the Prador Vrell. Vrell, having been mutated by the Spatterjay virus into something powerful and dangerous, has seized control of a Prador dreadnought, killing much of its crew, and is intent on heading back to the Prador Third Kingdom to exact vengeance on the King of the Prador, who tried to have him killed.

All three ships are heading towards a climatic confrontation to The Graveyard, where underlying truths about the virus are revealed and an ancient menace to civilization reappears . . .

Orbus is the third book in Neal Asher's Spatterjay trilogy, following on from The Voyage of the Sable Keech.

In the media

Orbus hits every nail on the head, every time. Neal has not only delivered an excellent, enthralling and action-packed story, but probably his most accomplished and enjoyable novel to date. I honestly can't recommend this one highly enough.
Walker of Worlds
Rail-guns rattle off, pulse rifles fire out shots and explosions ring out. This is what Asher does best.
It is, like all of Asher’s work, brilliant fun.