Released on 04 September 2008.

#1 in series
Read extract

Dead Simple

4.04 based on 8484 ratings & 764 reviews on


It was meant to be a harmless stag-night prank. A few hours later Michael Harrison has disappeared and his friends are dead.

With only three days to the wedding, Detective Superintendent Roy Grace - a man haunted by the shadow of his own missing wife - is contacted by Michael's beautiful, distraught fiancée, Ashley Harper.

Grace discovers that the one man who ought to know Michael Harrison's whereabouts is saying nothing. But then he has a lot more to gain than anyone realizes, For one man's disaster is another man's fortune . . .

Dead Simple is the stunning first novel in the number one bestselling Roy Grace series from award-winning author, Peter James.

In the media

A very impressive crime thriller series debut
A terrific tale of greed, seduction and betrayal
Daily Telegraph
Ingenious plotting, high suspense and tight writing
Daily Mail