Released on 28 June 2018.

Read extract

A Necessary End

3.88 based on 2771 ratings & 148 reviews on


A Necessary End is the third novel in Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks series, following on from A Dedicated Man.

In the usually peaceful town of Eastvale, a simmering tension has now reached breaking point. An anti-nuclear demonstration has ended in violence, leaving one policeman stabbed to death. Fired by professional outrage, Superintendent 'Dirty Dick' Burgess descends with vengeful fury on the inhabitants of 'Maggie's Farm', an isolated house high on the daleside.

Inspector Banks is uneasy about Burgess's handling of the investigation. But he has been warned off the case. Soon Banks realizes that the only way he can salvage his career is by beating Burgess to the killer . . .

A Necessary End is followed by the fourth book in this Yorkshire-based crime series, The Hanging Valley.

In the media

An award-winning writer with ideas that are imaginative and plots that are refreshingly cliché-free
Time Out
If you haven't caught up with Peter Robinson already, now is the time to start
Independent on Sunday