Released on 28 June 2018.

Read extract

Past Reason Hated

3.95 based on 2844 ratings & 131 reviews on


Past Reason Hated is the fifth novel in Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks series, following on from The Hanging Valley.

It should have been a cosy scene – log fire, sheepskin rug, Vivaldi on the stereo, Christmas lights and tree. But appearances can be deceptive. For Caroline Hartley, lying quietly on the couch, has been brutally murdered.

Inspector Alan Banks is called to the grim scene. And he soon has more suspects than he ever imagined. As he delves into her past, he realizes that for Caroline, secrecy was a way of life, and her death is no different. His ensuing investigation is full of hidden passions and desperate violence . . .

Past Reason Hated is followed by the sixth book in this Yorkshire-based crime series, Wednesday's Child.

In the media

A definite contender for fiction's new top cop
Independent on Sunday
The characterizations are unfailingly sharp and subtle
New York Times