Past Reason Hated

Peter Robinson

3.95 based on 13 ratings & 1 reviews on
See more book details
01 August 2013
416 pages

Past Reason Hated is the fifth novel in Peter Robinson's Inspector Banks series, following on from The Hanging Valley.

It should have been a cosy scene – log fire, sheepskin rug, Vivaldi on the stereo, Christmas lights and tree. But appearances can be deceptive. For Caroline Hartley, lying quietly on the couch, has been brutally murdered.

Inspector Alan Banks is called to the grim scene. And he soon has more suspects than he ever imagined. As he delves into her past, he realizes that for Caroline, secrecy was a way of life, and her death is no different. His ensuing investigation is full of hidden passions and desperate violence . . .

Past Reason Hated is followed by the sixth book in this Yorkshire-based crime series, Wednesday's Child.

The characterizations are unfailingly sharp and subtle

New York Times

A definite contender for fiction's new top cop

Independent on Sunday

Watch for those twists - they'll get you every time

Ian Rankin