Under Ground

3.28 based on 151 ratings & 36 reviews on Goodreads.com

THEY THOUGHT THEY WERE SAFE . . .
The Sanctum is a luxurious, self-sustaining survival condominium situated underground. It's a plush bolt-hole for the rich and paranoid - a place where they can wait out the apocalypse in style. When a devastating super-flu virus hits, several families race to reach The Sanctum. All have their own motivations for entering. All are hiding secrets.

But when the door locks and someone dies, they realize the greatest threat to their survival may not be above ground - it may already be inside . . .

Under Ground is a page-turning locked-room mystery from the combined talents of Sarah Lotz and Louis Greenberg, writing as S. L. Grey. It is perfect for fans of Under the Dome by Stephen King and films such as The Hole and The Descent (with a pinch of And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie).

It'sJG Ballard meets Agatha Christie, with a soupcon of Patricia Highsmith thrown in. Grey rotates the viewpoint through the eyes of five very different characters, ramps up the tension to an almost unbearable level, and ends with a stunning double finale.
GUARDIAN
Under Ground shifts from slow-burn chills to its frantic finale with considerable expertise. A gripping book - and definitely not for the claustrophobic.
SFX
Under Ground is well paced and it certainly has the potential to become a classic thriller . . . It's full of well-developed characters, captivating twists and an unpredictable conclusion that will have any thriller fan guessing all the way through. A thoroughly enjoyable read
Starburst

About S. L. Grey

S. L. Grey is a collaboration between Sarah Lotz and Louis Greenberg. Sarah is a novelist and screenwriter and die-hard zombie fanatic. She writes crime novels and thrillers under her own name, and as Lily Herne she and her daughter Savannah Lotz write the Deadlands series of zombie novels for young adults. Louis is a Johannesburg-based fiction writer and editor. He was a bookseller for several years, and has a Master's degree in vampire fiction and a doctorate on post-religious apocalyptic fiction.

Read More

From our blogs

An interview with S. L. Grey

An interview with S. L. Grey

09 January 2015

By Pan Macmillan

"I don’t have a favourite word, but I have a love-hate relationship with ‘smorgasbord’. My wife hates the word so I find myself often, like an annoying nervous tic, saying it to her jokingly whenever the occasion arises, but she hates it so much that she doesn’t laugh...

Read
What is it like to write a novel with someone else?

What is it like to write a novel with someone else?

07 August 2015

By Louis Greenberg

S. L. Grey is the author of Under Ground, but behind that name there are actually two authors, Louis Greenberg and Sarah Lotz. We sat down with one half of the duo, Louis Greenberg, to find out what it's really like to write with someone else.

Read