Under Ground

3.27 based on 205 ratings & 43 reviews on Goodreads.com
Macmillan

Publication date: 16.07.2015
ISBN: 9781447266488
Number of pages: 352

Synopsis

THEY THOUGHT THEY WERE SAFE . . . The Sanctum is a luxurious, self-sustaining survival condominium situated underground. It's a plush bolt-hole for the rich and paranoid - a place where they can wait out the apocalypse in style. When a devastating super-flu virus hits, several families race to reach The Sanctum. All have their own motivations for entering. All are hiding secrets.

But when the door locks and someone dies, they realize the greatest threat to their survival may not be above ground - it may already be inside . . .

'It'sJG Ballard meets Agatha Christie, with a soupcon of Patricia Highsmith thrown in. Grey rotates the viewpoint through the eyes of five very different characters, ramps up the tension to an almost unbearable level, and ends with a stunning double finale.' GUARDIAN

Under Ground is a page-turning locked-room mystery from the combined talents of Sarah Lotz and Louis Greenberg, writing as S. L. Grey. It is perfect for fans of Under the Dome by Stephen King and films such as The Hole and The Descent (with a pinch of And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie).

In the media

Atmospheric, readable and all too plausible. Under Ground is a grim, effective chiller that takes you to the edge and leaves you there
SciFiNow
It'sJG Ballard meets Agatha Christie, with a soupcon of Patricia Highsmith thrown in. Grey rotates the viewpoint through the eyes of five very different characters, ramps up the tension to an almost unbearable level, and ends with a stunning double finale.
GUARDIAN
A fast-paced, slow-burn thriller . . . this is a gripping, briskly-paced novel of psychological suspense and the fragility of social norms. Grey's prose is superb, stripped down and briskly-paced, it keeps the novel moving forward
Civilianreader.wordpress.com