Released on 20 September 2018.

Read extract
4.09 based on 498 ratings & 114 reviews on Goodreads.com

2013 Long-listed

Branford Boase Award

2013 Long-listed

The CILIP Carnegie Medal

Synopsis

Soldier Dog by Sam Angus is an emotional, action-packed, moving book set during the First World War, perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo.

'He'll always be true, faithful and brave, even to the last beat of his heart.'

It's 1917. In the trenches of France, miles from home in England, Stanley is a boy fighting a man's war. He is a dog handler, whose dog must be so loyal that he will cross no-man's-land alone under heavy fire to return to Stanley's side, carrying a message that could save countless lives. But this journey is fraught with danger, and only the bravest will survive.

As the fighting escalates and Stanley experiences the true horror of war, he comes to realize that the loyalty of his dog is the only thing he can rely on . . .

In the media

Amidst these harrowing events, the bravery and the trusting relationship built up between a dog and their handler shines through. The novel covers an unusual aspect of WW1 which would be a useful springboard to introduce the topic of trench warfare.
Carousel