#52 in series

The Hiding Place

Book 52 in the series

3.53 based on 1065 ratings & 107 reviews on Goodreads.com
Picador

Publication date: 23.02.2017
ISBN: 9781509827633
Number of pages: 0

Synopsis

With an introduction by D J Taylor

My father would have flipped a coin and watched his fate come twirling down to earth.

Dolores is the youngest of six daughters. Growing up in the 1960s in Cardiff's poverty stricken Tiger Bay, her life is cursed from the start when, on the day of her birth, her father gambles and loses everything on a bet that Delores will be a boy. As Dolores grows older, we see this strange underworld through her eyes: Tiger Bay is a place of gaming rooms and cafes, of crumbling houses and burning secrets, and for Dolores and her sisters, their home is a dangerous place, filled equally by fear and love. Thirty years later, the estranged sisters return to Tiger Bay for their mother's funeral. It is a time of consolation, of memories and nightmares, and a chance for Dolores to understand the tragedy that has shaped her existence.

The Hiding Place by Trezza Azzopardi is a deeply moving and intensely lyrical novel about love and betrayal. Shortlisted for the 2000 Booker Prize, it portrays the life of a child condemned forever to bear the mark of a disintegrating family.

In the media

Fans of Kate Atkinson and Andrea Ashworth will love this. Read it and weep
Mirror

Books in the Series

The South
The South

Colm Toibin

#2 in series
An Unquiet Mind
An Unquiet Mind

Kay Redfield Jamison

#4 in series
Essays In Love
Essays In Love

Alain de Botton

#8 in series
Scottsboro
Scottsboro

Ellen Feldman

#9 in series
Once in a House on Fire
Once in a House on Fire

Andrea Ashworth

#10 in series
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight

Alexandra Fuller

#11 in series
Four Letters Of Love
Four Letters Of Love

Niall Williams

#12 in series
The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones

Alice Sebold

#13 in series
The Woman Warrior
The Woman Warrior

Maxine Hong Kingston

#14 in series
The Butcher Boy
The Butcher Boy

Patrick McCabe

#15 in series
The Piano Tuner
The Piano Tuner

Daniel Mason

#20 in series
Dispatches
Dispatches

Michael Herr

#23 in series
We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will Be Killed With Our Families
We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow...

Philip Gourevitch

#24 in series
My Year Off
My Year Off

Robert McCrum

#25 in series
If The Spirit Moves You
If The Spirit Moves You

Justine Picardie

#26 in series
The Drowned Book
The Drowned Book

Sean O'Brien

#27 in series
Quarantine
Quarantine

Jim Crace

#28 in series
With Nails
With Nails

Richard E Grant

#33 in series
Quartet in Autumn
Quartet in Autumn

Barbara Pym

#35 in series
The Liars' Club
The Liars' Club

Mary Karr

#37 in series
The Little Prince
The Little Prince

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

#38 in series
Trumpet
Trumpet

Jackie Kay

#39 in series
A House For Mr Biswas
A House For Mr Biswas

V. S. Naipaul

#42 in series
The Patrick Melrose Novels
The Patrick Melrose Novels

Edward St Aubyn

#44 in series
The Psalm Killer
The Psalm Killer

Chris Petit

#46 in series
A Boy's Own Story
A Boy's Own Story

Edmund White

#47 in series
Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary

Helen Fielding

#48 in series
The Face on the Cutting-Room Floor
The Face on the Cutting-Room Floor

Cameron McCabe

#49 in series
The Man Without Qualities
The Man Without Qualities

Robert Musil

#50 in series
The History Man
The History Man

Malcolm Bradbury

#55 in series
India
India

V. S. Naipaul

#57 in series
Republican Party Reptile
Republican Party Reptile

P. J. O'Rourke

#60 in series
The Stranger's Child
The Stranger's Child

Alan Hollinghurst

#64 in series