Seek The Fair Land

Walter Macken

4.16 based on 426 ratings & 35 reviews on
See more book details
10 June 1988
304 pages

The first book in a trilogy examining the adventures of several generations of one Irish family.

Set amidst the Cromwellian Invasions, Seek the Fair Wind begins in 1641. Dominick McMahon, a merchant by trade, has little appetite for fighting, yet is forced to defend his town against Cromwell's army.

From dark city streets to wild mountains, from vicious slaughter to triumphant faith, from selfish obedience to heroic opposition – this novel paints a vivid portrait of the struggles of the Irish people against the English.

Along with The Silent People and The Scorching Wind, Seek the Fair Land is a fascinating examination of the history and events that fueled the fight for freedom in Ireland.