We're delighted to announce that Ian Duhig, John Glenday and Kathleen Jamie have been shortlisted for the Roehampton Poetry Prize 2016.

The prize is given annually for the best poetry collection of the year written by a poet of any nationality who is currently living in the UK. It is judged exclusively by poets. The 2016 Prize is judged by poets Mimi Khalvati and Ruth Padel, and chaired by Professor David Harsent, who also serves as Chair of the Roehampton Poetry Centre.

Director of the Roehampton Poetry Centre, Professor Fiona Sampson, said: “It’s a delight to see such a varied shortlist for a major poetry prize. We are particularly pleased that the list includes fine books omitted from other prize shortlists, that the range of shortlisted publishers includes two hugely important independent presses.  The Roehampton Prize is already contributing to a better awareness of the wide range of wonderful poetry in Britain today.”

Also on the shortlist are:
Andrew McMillan - Physical
Peter Riley - Due North
Greta Stoddart - Alive Alive O

The winner will be announced on Tuesday 3rd May 2016. 

Read 'The Ballad of Blind Jack Metcalf' by Ian Duhig

Read 'Windfall' by John Glenday

Read 'The Lighthouse' by Kathleen Jamie