A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler, translated by Charlotte Collins, has been longlisted for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize.

Ravi Mirchandani, Robert Seethaler's publisher says:

'It’s really wonderful to see Robert Seethaler’s subtle, quiet, powerful short novel of a life in twentieth-century Europe on a longlist that includes Nobel winners Oe and Pamuk and the current translated darling Elena Ferrante, in this first year of the new Man Booker International prize.'

After considering 155 books, the judges of the prize have revealed this year's longlist:

A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler, translated by Charlotte Collins

The Story of the Lost Child by Elena Ferrante, translated by Ann Goldstein 

The Vegetarian by Han Kang, translated by Deborah Smith 

Mend the Living by Maylis de Kerangal, translated by Jessica Moore 

Man Tiger by Eka Kurniawan, translated by Labodalih Sembiring

The Four Books by Yan Lianke, translated by Carlos Rojas 

A Cup of Rage by Raduan Nassar, translated by Stefan Tobler

Ladivine by Marie NDiaye, translated by Jordan Stump

Death by Water by Kenzaburō Ōe, translated by Deborah Boliner Boem

White Hunger by Aki Ollikainen, translated by Emily Jeremiah & Fleur Jeremiah

A Strangeness in My Mind by Orhan Pamuk, translated by Ekin Oklap

Tram 83 by Fiston Mwanza Mujila, translated by Roland Glasser 

Boyd Tonkin, chair of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize judging panel, comments:

'For the first longlist in its new form, the Man Booker International Prize invites readers to share a thrilling journey of discovery across the finest fiction in translation. The 13 books that the judges have chosen not only feature superb writing from Brazil to Indonesia, from Finland to South Korea, from Angola to Italy. Our selection highlights the sheer diversity of great fiction today. From intense episodes of passion to miniature historical epics; from eerie fables of family strife to character-driven chronicles of urban life, this list showcases fiction that crosses every border. It also pays tribute to the skill and dedication of the first-rate translators who convey it to English-language readers. Please join us on this fantastic voyage.'

The shortlist will be announced on 14 April 2016, with the overall winner announced on 16 May 2016.