As part of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse prize, a Gloucestershire Old Spot pig will be named Lost For Words, after the novel. St Aubyn also wins an offering of champagne and a set of the Everyman Wodehouse collection.

Chair of the judges David Campbell said, ‘Lost For Words is a wonderfully funny send up of literary prizes and much of contemporary cultural life. I'm delighted it's won our fifteenth Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize.’

‘The only thing I was sure of when I was writing this satire on literary prizes was that it wouldn't win any prizes,’ said St Aubyn. ‘I was wrong. I had overlooked the one prize with a sense of humour.

‘The challenge I set myself with Lost For Words was to see if I could enjoy writing. In that, at least, I succeeded. The fact this novel has given pleasure to others – and in particular the judges of the Bollinger Everyman Woodhouse Prize for Comic Fiction – is an encouragement for which I am delighted and grateful.

‘I regret that my pig and I will not be spending as much time together as we both might have liked, but I know we will be in complete harmony. Lost For Words will be leading a literary life down on Comic Farm, surrounded by Lightning Rods and Snuff and Skios, and all the other previous winners, while I'll be up in London making a pig of myself with a Jeroboam of delicious Bollinger.’

• The previous winners of the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction are:

Howard Jacobson for The Mighty Waltzer (2000)
Jonathan Coe for The Rotter’s Club (2001)
Michael Frayn for Spies (2002)
DBC Pierre for Vernon God Little (2003)
Jasper Fforde for The Well of Lost Plots (2004)
Marina Lewycka for A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian (2005)
Christopher Brookmyre for All Fun and Games until Somebody Loses an Eye (2006)
Paul Torday for Salmon Fishing in the Yemen (2007)
Will Self for The Butt (2008)
Geoff Dyer for Jeff in Venice, Death in Varanasi (2009)
Ian McEwan for Solar (2010)
Gary Shteyngart for Super Sad True Love Story (2011)
Terry Pratchett for Snuff (2012)
Howard Jacobson for Zoo Time (2013)

Sixty nine novels were submitted for this year’s Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize