China Miéville, Kate Clanchy and Stuart Evers have been shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize 2016.

Ailsa Cox, Edge Hill Prize founder and Professor of Short Fiction at Edge Hill University said distilling the longlist of thirty-eight talented entries down to six finalists was challenging:

“This year has seen some of the strongest submissions in the ten years this award has been running. The 2016 Edge Hill Prize finalists will join what is truly a roll call of world-class talent, including Colm Tóibín, Sarah Hall and Kevin Barry. The judges absolutely have their work cut out for them in choosing this year’s winner from a list that includes prize-winning authors alongside rising talent.” 

Also on the shortlist:

Angela Readman – Don’t Try This at Home

Jessie Greengrass – An Account of the Decline of the Great Auk, According to the One Who Saw It

Thomas Morris – We Don’t Know What We’re Doing

The winner will be announced on Tuesday 5th July 2016.

Read 'Polynia'

Read 'Aunt Mirrie and the Child'

Read 'Lakelands'