Picador poet Robin Robertson has been shortlisted for the T S Eliot Prize for Poetry 2013 for his collection Hill of Doors. 


Judges Ian Duhig (chair), Imtiaz Dharker and Vicki Feaver arrived at the ten strong shortlist after reading 113 submissions from publishers. 

The shortlist in full:

Dannie Abse Speak, Old Parrot (Hutchinson)
Moniza Alvi At the Time of Partition (Bloodaxe)
Anne Carson Red Doc > (Jonathan Cape)
Sinéad Morrissey Parallax (Carcanet)
Helen Mort Division Street (Chatto & Windus)
Daljit Nagra Ramayana: A Retelling (Faber)
Maurice Riordan The Water Stealer (Faber)
Robin Robertson Hill of Doors (Picador)
Michael Symmons Roberts Drysalter (Jonathan Cape)
George Szirtes Bad Machine (Bloodaxe)

All ten poets will read from their collections at the prize readings at 7 p.m. on Sunday 12 January 2014 at Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall. The winner will be announced on Monday 13 January 2014. 


As part of The T S Eliot Prize Reading Groups scheme, you can download specially commissioned reading group notes, together with three poems from each shortlisted collection, from the PBS website. This year, reading groups can enter a new competition to win tickets for the readings, a visit from one of the shortlisted poets or a complete set of the shortlisted books. Find out more on the PBS website. 

A level students can also win the chance to shadow the judges of the prize and to enter a writing competition in the T S Eliot Prize Shadowing Scheme, run by the Poetry Book Society in partnership with the English and Media Centre's emagazine.