Congratulations to Sean O'Brien, whose poetry collection The Beautiful Librarians, has been shortlisted for the 2015 T S Eliot Prize. 

Unanimously chosen by the judges from a record 142 books submitted, Chair Pascale Petit said:

'This is a fantastic year for poetry, with the highest amount of entries submitted in the history of the prize, and an exceptional number of outstanding collections, including many dazzling debuts. This made our task of choosing the shortlist tricky – many that didn’t make it are books we love. But we were unanimous about our final list, the books my distinguished fellow judges and I picked all awed and excited us with their ambition, verve and technical mastery.'

Also on the shortlist are:

Mark Doty – Deep Lane 
Tracey Herd – Not in this World
Selima Hill – Jutland 
Sarah Howe – Loop of Jade 
Tim Liardet – The World Before Snow 
Les Murray – Waiting for the Past
Don Paterson – 40 Sonnets 
Rebecca Perry – Beauty/Beauty 
Claudia Rankine – Citizen: An American Lyric 

Read 'Daylight Saving' by Sean O'Brien