We're delighted to announce that two Pan Macmillan authors are on the 2017 CWA Dagger in the Library shortlist – C J Sansom and Mari Hannah.

The Dagger in the Library is a prize for a body of work by a crime writer that users of libraries particularly admire. It is one of the most prestigious crime writing awards in the UK and previous winners include Elly Griffiths, Christopher Fowler, Sharon Bolton, Belinda Bauer, Alexander McCall Smith, Stephen Booth, Peter Robinson and Lindsey Davis.

The CWA revised the 2017 Dagger in the Library format so that, uniquely among crime writing awards, only library staff were able to nominate authors. Nominations were received from 175 libraries across the UK and Ireland – with 110 authors suggested as worthy winners.

Also on the 2017 shortlist:

  • Andrew Taylor
  • James Oswald
  • Kate Ellis
  • Tana French

C. J. Sansom was educated at Birmingham University, where he took a BA and then a Ph.D. in history. After working in a variety of jobs, he retrained as a solicitor and practised in Sussex, until becoming a full-time writer.

Sansom is the bestselling author of the acclaimed Shardlake series, the Spanish Civil War thriller Winter in Madrid and the number one bestseller Dominion.

Start reading the Shardlake series

Mari Hannah is an award-winning author whose authentic voice is no happy accident. A former probation officer, she has contributed to CID training for Northumbria Police and lives in rural Northumberland with her partner, an ex-murder detective. Mari turned to scriptwriting when her career was cut short following an assault on duty. 

Mari Hannah’s series of crime fiction novels featuring DCI Kate Daniels have garnered critical acclaim. Described by The Times as ‘a Northerner to join the roster of top literary detectives’, Daniels tackles the most difficult of cases in Newcastle and Northumbria.

Start reading the Kate Daniel series

The winner will be announced on Saturday 17 June 2017. Click here for more information.