We are thrilled to share the news that American War, by Omar El Akkad, has been shortlisted for the 2018 Arthur C. Clarke award for best science fiction novel of the year.

In American War, Omar El Akkad’s imagines a dystopian future for the USA: a second Civil War, a devastating plague and the impact on one family caught deep in the middle.

Omar El Akkad is a Egyptian-Canadian novelist and journalist, whose journalist work has included coverage of the military trials in Guantanomo Bay, the Black Lives Matter movement in Ferguson, Missouri, and the Arab Spring Revolution in Egypt. American War in paperback in April 2018 is his first novel. 

The Arthur C. Clarke award - now in its 32nd year - is an annual prize, awarded to the best science fiction novel of the previous year. The first prize was awarded in 1987 to Margaret Atwood for her feminist dystopian novel, The Handmaid's Tale. Previous other recipients include Picador's Emily St John Mandel for Station Eleven, and three-time winner, China Miéville.

The 2018 shortlist for the Arthur C. Clarke award comprises the following books:

Sea of Rust by C. Robert Cargill
Dreams before the Start of Time by Anne Charnock
American War by Omar El Akkad
Spaceman of Bohemia by Jaroslav Kalfar
Gather the Daughters by Jenni Melamed
Borne by Jeff VanderMeer