The Poet Laureate presents a benefit in support of the Poetry Books Society.

The Poetry Book Society has recently heard that its funding will be withdrawn entirely by the Arts Council. The Poet Laureate, Carol Ann Duffy, has invited 30 fellow poets to take part in an evening celebrating the best of contemporary British poetry to benefit the Poetry Book Society.

Carol Ann Duffy writes, "At the time of the ACE cuts to the PBS and to several much-loved festivals and important publishers of poetry, many poets and readers felt a sense of anger and grief. This event is intended to put a spotlight on the passionate support there is in the UK for our poetry institutions and to share, through poetry and audience, our love for our national art." 

Readers include: Elaine Feinstein, David Harsent, George Szirtes, Gillian Clarke, Imtiaz Dharker, Daljit Nagra, Rosie Bailey reading for U A Fanthorpe, Ruth Fainlight, Clare Shaw, Carol Rumens, Patience Agbabi, Annie Freud, Christopher Reid, Mimi Khalvati, Fiona Sampson, Caroline Bird, Nii Ayikwei Parkes, Jane Draycott, John Agard, Michael Symmons Roberts, Jacob Sam La-Rose, Luke Wright, Penny Shuttle, Fleur Adcock and Pascale Petit, with more to come!