The Forward Prizes were founded in 1992 and have been recognised as making the reputations of winning and shortlisted poets. They are awarded to are awarded annually for the best collection, best first collection, and best single poem.

Colette Bryce's collection The Whole & Rain-domed Universe is shortlisted for best collection and Denise Riley's poem 'After La Rochefoucauld' is shortlisted for best single poem.

Colette BryceIn The Whole & Rain-domed Universe, Bryce presents the reader with an extraordinarily clear-eyed, vivid and sometimes disturbing account of growing up in Derry during the Troubles, with many ghosts both raised and laid to rest. It is a riveting poetic document of the time; Bryce turns her clear, singing line to darker ends than she has before, describing not just the warmth and eccentricity of family and the claustrophobia of home-life, but also the atmosphere of suspicion, and the real and present threat of terrible violence. We publish the collection in September 2014.

Read the full shortlist for best collection on the Forward Prize website.

Denise RileyDenise Riley's poem 'After La Rochefoucauld' is up against poems by Tim Nolan, Stephen Santus, Jack Underwood and Jeffrey Wainwright. Her next collection will be published by Picador in 2016.

This year’s judging panel is Jeremy Paxman (chair), poets Dannie Abse, Helen Mort and Vahni Capildeo, and singer-songwriter Cerys Matthews.

The winners will be announced on Tuesday 30 September 2014 at London’s Southbank centre. Fingers crossed!