We're delighted that Picador's Emma Flint (Little Deaths) and Megan Abbott (You Will Know Me) have been longlisted for the 2017 CWA Dagger Awards.

Longlisted for the Gold Dagger

Little Deaths, by Emma Flint



It's the summer of 1965, and the streets of Queens, New York shimmer in a heatwave. One July morning, Ruth Malone wakes to find a bedroom window wide open and her two young children missing. After a desperate search, the police make a horrifying discovery.

Noting Ruth's perfectly made-up face and provocative clothing, the empty liquor bottles and love letters that litter her apartment, the detectives leap to convenient conclusions, fuelled by neighbourhood gossip and speculation. Sent to cover the case on his first major assignment, tabloid reporter Pete Wonicke at first can't help but do the same. But the longer he spends watching Ruth, the more he learns about the darker workings of the police and the press.  Soon, Pete begins to doubt everything he thought he knew.

Ruth Malone is enthralling, challenging and secretive - is she really capable of murder?

Haunting, intoxicating and heart-poundingly suspenseful, Little Deaths by Emma Flint is a gripping debut novel about love, morality and obsession, exploring the capacity for good and evil within us all.

Read an extract of Little Deaths

Longlisted for the Ian Fleming Silver Dagger

You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott


Katie and her husband Eric have made their daughter Devon the centre of their world. Talented, determined, a rising gymnastics star, Devon is the focus of her parents' lives and the lynchpin of their marriage. There is nothing they wouldn't do for her.

When a violent hit-and-run accident sends shockwaves through their close-knit community, Katie is immediately concerned for her daughter. She and Eric have worked so hard to protect Devon from anything that might distract or hurt her. That's what every parent wants for their child, after all. Even if they don't realize how much you've sacrificed for them. Even if they are keeping secrets from you . . .

A mother knows best . . . doesn't she?

Read an extract of You Will Know Me


About the awards

Established in 1955, the Crime Writers Association Daggers are awarded for the best crime writing across ten distinct categories. The winners of the 2017 awards will be announced at a ceremony in London on 26 October 2017. 


Sign up to the Picador newsletter for all the latest news on our books, events and authors.