The Seamus Heaney Centre Prize for Poetry is awarded annually to the writer of the best first collection published in the UK or Ireland in the preceding year. 

The Chairman of the judges for this year’s prize was Frank Ormsby, poet and co-editor of the The Yellow Nib, the journal of the Seamus Heaney Centre. His fellow judges were Professor Ciaran Carson, Director of the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry, and Connie Voisine, poet and Fulbright Scholar at Queen’s University, Belfast.

‘The resonant, robust lyrics and sequences in this beguiling collection are subtly weighted and consistently engaging. The world they create is affecting in its intensity and vibrant in its forms and images, drawing the reader in time after time. This is poetry that sets up “so bright a mirror/the room moves towards it.”’



Read an interview with Rachael