Robin Robertson and Annie Freud have been shortlisted for the T S. Eliot prize 2010 for The Wrecking Light and The Mirabelles respectively.


The T S Eliot Prize for Poetry was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society's 40th birthday and honour its founding poet. Described as 'the prize most poets want to win' (Andrew Motion, then Poet Laureate) and 'the world's top poetry award' (Irish Independent). It is awarded to the author of the best new collection of poetry published in the UK and Ireland each year.

Now in its 18th year it is firmly established as the most valuable and prestigious prize in the UK for a new collection of poetry. The winner receives £15,000 and each of the shortlisted poets receives £1,000.

Previous winners [in chronological order] are Ciaran Carson, Paul Muldoon, Mark Doty, Les Murray, Don Paterson, Ted Hughes, Hugo Williams, Michael Longley, Anne Carson, Alice Oswald, Don Paterson (for the second time), George Szirtes, Carol Ann Duffy, Seamus Heaney, Sean O'Brien, Jen Hadfield and Philip Gross.

Judges Anne Stevenson, Bernardine Evaristo and Michael Symmons Roberts have chosen the 10 collections from the record 123 new poetry collections submitted by publishers.

The shortlist in full:

Seeing Stars by Simon Armitage
The Mirabelles by Annie Freud
You by John Haynes
Human Chain by Seamus Heaney
What the Water Gave Me by Pascale Petit
The Wrecking Light by Robin Robertson
Rough Music by Fiona Sampson
Phantom Noise by Brian Turner
White Egrets by Derek Walcott
New Light for the Old Dark by Sam Willetts

Find out more about the T S. Eliot prize 2010 on the Poetry Book Society.


Chair of judges, Anne Stevenson said 'The judges have found this an exceptional year for poetry, with a record number of entries, and have agreed on a strong shortlist which is unusually eclectic in form and theme.'