Robin Robertson has been shortlisted for the 2010 Costa Poetry Award for his collection The Wrecking Light.

Robin Robertson Wrecking light book cover


The Poetry award is one of five categories: First Novel, Novel, Biography and Children's are the other four. The winner in each category receives £5,000. One of these five books is selected as the overall winner of the Book of the Year and receives a further £30,000, making a total prize fund of £55,000.

The shortlist in full:

Roy Fisher for Standard Midland (Bloodaxe Books)

Robin Robertson for The Wrecking Light (Picador)

Jo Shapcott for Of Mutability (Faber and Faber)

Sam Willetts for New Light for the Old Dark (Cape Poetry)

Find out more about the Costa Book Awards.


The Costa Book Awards, one of the most prestigious and popular literary prizes in the UK, recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland.