Room by Emma Donoghue has been shortlisted for the Orange Prize for Fiction 2011.

Celebrating its sixteenth anniversary this year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world.


The shortlist in full:

Emma Donoghue - Room

Aminatta Forna - The Memory of Love

Emma Henderson - Grace Williams Says it Loud

Nicole Krauss - Great House

Téa Obreht - The Tiger’s Wife

Kathleen Winter - Annabel

"We are proud and pleased to announce our shortlist for the Orange Prize 2011," commented Bettany Hughes, Chair of judges. "Our judging meeting fizzed for many hours with conversations about the originality, excellence and readability of the books in front of us - credit to the calibre of submissions this year. This shortlist should give hours of reading pleasure to the wider world.”

The winner will be presented with a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze statue known as 'the Bessie', created by artist Grizel Niven. Both are anonymously endowed.

Find out more about the Orange Prize.