The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota has been nominated for the Literature Award for The Year in the 2016 South Bank Sky Arts Awards.

Celebrating its 20th anniversary, The South Bank Sky Arts Awards are a unique event: they are the only awards ceremony in the world to celebrate every area of the arts, with awards for Literature, Dance, TV Drama, Film, Classical Music, Comedy, Pop, Opera, Visual Art and Theatre. Previous Literature Award winners include Kate Atkinson for Life After Life and Hilary Mantel for Bring Up The Bodies.

Lord Melvyn Bragg, host of the award, said: “The South Bank Sky Arts Awards freeze-frame on a unique moment in British cultural history. It’s when thirty nominees in ten categories across the Arts, from Opera to Pop Music, from Comedy to Theatre, meet to celebrate the best work being done by artists in this country across a wide range of ages and backgrounds.”

The ceremony will take place on Sunday 5 June 2016. For the full list of nominees, click here.

Read the first chapter