Three Picador Poets Shortlisted for Poetry Prizes

23 November 2012

Kathleen Jamie, Paul Farley and Jacob Polley have all been chosen for the 10 strong shortlist for the prestigious 2012 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry out of 131 submissions.

Chair of the judges Carol Ann Duffy said, 'In a year which saw a record number of submissions, my fellow judges and I are delighted with a shortlist which sparkles with energy, passion and freshness and which demonstrates the range and variety of poetry being published in the UK.'


Other shortlisted titles for the T. S. Eliot prize are:

Simon Armitage The Death of King Arthur (Faber)

Sean Borodale Bee Journal (Jonathan Cape)

Gillian Clarke Ice (Carcanet)

Julia Copus The World's Two Smallest Humans (Faber)

Paul Farley The Dark Film (Picador)

Jorie Graham P L A C E (Carcanet)

Kathleen Jamie The Overhaul (Picador)

Sharon Olds Stag's Leap (Jonathan Cape)

Jacob Polley The Havocs (Picador)

Deryn Rees-Jones Burying the Wren (Seren)


The Costa Poetry Prize Shortlist:

Sean Borodale Bee Journal (Jonathan Cape)

Julia Copus The World’s Two Smallest Humans (Faber)

Selima Hill People Who Like Meatballs (Bloodaxe Books)

Kathleen Jamie The Overhaul (Picador)


Paul Farley's The Dark Film is his fourth collection of poetry. He is also an essayist, critic, dramatist and documentary maker. Previously, he has won the Forward Prize, the Somerset Maugham Award, the Whitbread Poetry Prize and the E.M. Forster Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. 

Read more about The Dark Film here

Little Gods established Jacob Polley as one of the leading talents of the younger generation; his third collection sees him extend that gift in often wholly unexpected directions. 

Read more about The Havocs and enter our competition to win a free copy here

Kathleen Jamie's The Overhaul has also been shortlisted for the Costa Prize for Poetry.

Read more about Jamie's beautiful collection that addresses the question, 'How are we to live?'

You may also like